The Second Annual Fox Cities Indoor Pickleball Championship

Sponsored by the Appleton YMCA

Men's Division:

The competition was fierce and close. We nearly had a three-way tie because there was only a two-point difference between first and third in the men's finals.

Brian Driscoll emerged as the champion with 30 points in the final round, followed closely by Al Parker with 29 and Derek Wroblewski with 28. Pat Buzza took the fourth spot. Derek and Pat were the 1-2 finishers in the qualifying rounds with records of 6-1 and 5-2 respectively.

All images may be clicked to enlarge:

Brian Driscoll, our 2017 Fox Cities Indoor Champion
Finalists (left to right) Pat Buzza (4th), Brian Driscoll (1st), Al Parker (2nd). Not pictured: Derek Wroblewski (3rd)

Women's Division:

The last game of the final round represented an unbelievable comeback for champion Pam Dellise. She came into the game behind by eight points, therefore could not win unless she defeated the leader at that point, Sue Bodilly, and the top seed from the qualifiers (Trish Liethen) by a score of 11-2 or better. She actually went one better than that. She and her partner, April Hassell, won that game 11-1. That game made the final standings almost as close as they were in the men's division. Pam won with 25 points, Sue scored 23, and April was just behind them with 22.

The women's finalists (left to right): Sue Bodilly (2nd), Pam Dellise (1st), April Hassell (3rd), Trish Liethen (4th)

The complete results of the qualifying and final rounds can be found here.